A Guide to What the Chakras Really Are


If you have ever been a part of yoga or meditation, chances are that you know things about your chakras. Your chakras are often brought up in reiki or other healing classes. The teacher probably would bring up things such as the third eye chakra that is the place where you get your intuition and your inner self.

Chakras are a Sanskrit word that means wheel, and this is the energy center that goes throughout your body. There are seven main chakras in your body, and they go from your spine all the way to your head.

The chakra system is something that has been around for many years and started in India. This is where reiki healers and instructors work together to show you the ways of Hinduism.  The chakras work with different organs in your body and help to keep you physically, emotionally, and psychologically strong. The chakras are what help to bring healing to your body and to keep you healthy and strong.

There is no scientific evidence that talks about the energy centers but if you have been through meditation classes or yoga, you will find that when your chakras are balanced and strong, your mind, body and soul is strong as well.

Root Chakra

This chakra is the first chakra, and it is found at the bottom of the spine. This is where you have balance in your life and where you feel secure. This chakra helps you to survive and to be grounded.

Just like you need food, water, and shelter to live, the root chakra helps you to be grounded and to feel safe and secure.

When this chakra is blocked, you will be afraid, anxiety, stress, bladder problems, pain in your legs or feet and other issues.

The root chakra can be over or under active and if it is under active, it means that it is blocked but if it is overactive, it is working too hard, and this is also unhealthy. If you keep doing things such as eating too much food or having too much sex, it can cause your chakras to overload.

Color:  Red

Crystals: Onyx, hematite

Yoga: Wide Leg, Mountain Pose

Sacral Chakra

This chakra is the second chakra and is found right below the belly button. It is the chakra that keeps your passions and that help you to have sexual energy and creativity.

When this chakra is balanced you will be passionate, and you will feel good and have joy. You will be able to express your feelings and your sexual needs.

When this chakra is blocked, you will feel unstable, and you will have problems such as addiction or depression.

An underactive sacral chakra can make you not want sex but if it is overactive, you might be addicted to sex and other things.

Color:  Orange

Crystals:  Tiger’s Eye and Sunstone.

Yoga: Pigeon Pose, Warrior II

Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra is found in the rib area. This is where your digestive center is.

The solar plexus is the chakra that gives you self-esteem and helps you to feel that you are strong, and you can do anything.

When this is blocked, you might have low self-esteem and you might have control issues. This can leave you feeling bad about yourself and make you not get things done. It can also give you gas and digestive problems.

When this is blocked, you will have doubt and you will not be able to reach your true self. When this is overactive, you will have too much of an ego and will seek power.

Color:  Yellow

Element: Fire

Crystals: Pyrite and Amber

Yoga: Twists, Warrior III

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is found right in the middle of your chest and works with your lymphatic system, lungs, breasts, and your thymus gland.

This chakra is where you have unconditional love, compassion, forgiveness and care for others and yourself. When this is balanced, you are able to give love and compassion to others and you are able to accept love.

When this chakra is blocked, you will be jealous, anger, feel betrayed and emotional. If this chakra is underactive, you will close off your emotions and have a hard time with forgiveness but if it is overactive, you will be too loving to others. This will make you codependent.

Color: Pink and Green.

Element: Air

Crystals: Jade and Malachite

Yoga: Upward-Facing Dog

Throat Chakra

This chakra is found in the throat area and is part of your thyroid, neck, tongue, larynx and more.

When your throat chakra is balanced, you will be able to speak the truth and tell others what you need to tell them. You will be able to communicate freely, and you will also be able to listen to what others say.

If this chakra is blocked, you will have a hard time expressing what you want to say. You might have a hard time speaking words and saying your real feelings.

When this is overactive, you will talk too much and be judgmental.

Color: Blue

Element: Ether

Crystals: Kyanite and Lapis Lazuli

Yoga: Fish Pose, Shoulder Stand

Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is located between the eyebrows in the forehead. It works with your eyes, pituitary glands, brain, and head.

This chakra is the sixth chakra and helps you to know your intuition and to use that gifting. You are able to reach into yourself when this is balanced, and you are able to know and trust yourself.

When this chakra is blocked, you will not have the intuition that you need, and you will not trust your inner being. If this is underactive, you will always be trying to get thing to work out and make sense but if it is overactive, you will have depression, anxiety, judgmental attitudes, you will have skills that will scare you.

Color: Indigo

Element: Light

Crystals:  Labradorite and Amethyst

Yoga: Child Pose and Eagle Pose

Crown Chakra

This chakra is found at the top of your head. This is the chakra that is the place where your spiritual being, and your enlightenment lie. This is where you can realize what you are aware of and what your conscious mind is trying to tell you.

When this chakra is blocked, you will feel that you are disconnected from your life purpose and that you are not able to connect with your spiritual self or your enlightenment.

The crown chakra is the only chakra that is open through meditation or yoga and so you can use these things to fix it at any time. Always be thankful for the times where you get the guidance that you need.

If your chakra is overactive, it can cause you to not be satisfied and to feel arrogant about your giftings or disconnected.

Color: Violet

Crystals: Clear Quartz or Selenite

Yoga: Tree Pose, Headstand

Balancing Your Chakras

Each chakra has different traits, and they all work throughout your system. There are signs that you can pay attention to so that you can see if your chakra is blocked or not. If you go to a healer, they can help you with this as well.

By keeping your chakras balanced and strong, you will be strong in your mind, body, and soul.